Skip to content
January 10, 2008 / beidson

Pamela Anderson, My Mother-In-Law, and Gospel Fidelity

This morning on my way into work I heard that Pamela Anderson was getting yet another divorce, and if I’m not mistaken, she also happens to be pregnant.wedding-ring.jpg  Apparently, even this isn’t enough to keep their marriage together; in fact, it might even be one of the reasons they are separating.

I couldn’t help but think how predictable all of this was.  This is nothing new.  Celebrities get divorced all the time, and so do oridinary people for that matter.  So I wasn’t too surprised to learn of Mrs. (Ms.) Anderson’s latest break up.  I wasn’t even surprised to hear that she was getting a divorce in spite of the fact that she is pregnant.  And in fact, I’m never too surprised to hear about celebrity flings and affairs, and again, even the flings and affairs of oridinary everyday folk.  This is the world we live in, and unfortunately, sin is no surprise.

Right about the time I was thinking all of this, a car pulled out of a house I was passing, a car just like the one my mother-in-law drives.  The thought occurred to me that my mother-in-law is the exact opposite of Pamela Anderson, a faithful, loving, godly wife and mother.  My father-in-law doesn’t need to worry that her car will ever be in another man’s driveway for the wrong reasons.  When I see a car like the one my mother-in-law drives parked in another driveway, the thought that it might be my mother-in-law sneaking around never occurs to me.  Nor do I ever worry about my own wife sneaking around with another man.  She is a “one-driveway” woman because she is a one-man woman.

This fidelity that my wife, mother, and mother-in-law evidence is a message that speaks as loudly as the cheesy marriages and one night stands of Hollywood, if not louder.  There is a sense in which these three women are declaring the faithfulness of God by being faithful to their husbands.  What they are doing is more than simply staying out of trouble; they are in fact proclaiming the gospel because their faithfulness is a sign pointing toward the faithfulness of God in Jesus Christ.

Here is where we see the gospel displayed in marrital fidelity:  A man and woman are joined together, never to be separated, except by death.  It is final, and because it is final, they are faithful to one another. 

And this points to a much greater reality: God has done what he promised he would do, and what has not yet been accomplished will certainly be accomplished when God is ready.  All of God’s promises find their “Yes” in Jesus Christ, in whom we will most definitely escape the wrath of God and the power of sin and death.  Scripture is absolutely clear about this.  God does not cheat, nor does he fail, nor does he lie, and a monogomous marriage is simply another evidence of this, no matter what Pamela Anderson, Marilyn Monroe, or even Bathsheba may do.

No matter what may happen in Hollywood, or even next door, my wife and I are to display the gospel by being faithful to one another until death or the return of Jesus Christ.  We will not separate for any reason, and by God’s grace, our marriage will be a fruitful, joyful, and unforgettable experience.  Pamela Anderson cannot say this, nor can so many of our neighbors.  I only pray that perhaps Pamela Anderson will find a place to park her car permanently, for the sake of Jesus’ gospel, just as my wife, my mother and my mother-in-law have done.

Leave a Reply

