Skip to content
December 22, 2009 / beidson

I Cannot Believe Myself: Why We Must Refuse To Hear Our Hearts

How often do you get out of bed in the morning and immediately run through a list of things you don’t like about your life?  You haven’t even made coffee yet, and already complaining and grumbling are brewing in your heart.  I know this to be true in my life.  Every morning I fight a battle with my mind and heart.  I keep telling myself lies and I keep believing them, but the truth is, I can’t believe myself–my heart lies to me.  And so I turn immediately to the Scriptures–they tell me the truth.

The Scriptures warn us, “Let no one deceive himself” (1 Cor. 3:18).  We are so prone to lie to ourselves about anything and everything.  We tend to be in despair when there is reason for great hope.  We tend to exalt ourselves when we really have no reason to boast in ourselves at all.  We doubt when we ought to trust God.  We feel at peace in our sin when the Scriptures clearly condemn us in our sin.  Apart from Christ, we are like our father the devil, and even for those of us who have been adopted into God’s family, our sinful origin is clearly evident still, even in the kitchen at the coffee maker, before the sun has even come up.

John tell us, “whenever our hearts condemn us, God is greater than our heart, and he knows everything” (1 John 3:20).  We cannot always trust our treacherous hearts.  We must put our confidence in God’s sure Word to us.  Jesus has removed me from under the condemning power of sin and the furious anger of God against that sin.  My heart may condemn me, even with true statements.  But my flesh tries to disconnect my sin from God’s provision, and leave me in the grave to die alone.  It tells me half-truths, and I almost believe them.  But God has given us the whole truth, so that when our hearts condemn us, we can know that God is greater than all our sin, and able to save to the uttermost those who hope in him.

So tell yourself the truth.  When your heart and mind begin to condemn you, start talking to yourself, to borrow a biblical counseling tool.  Do not believe yourself when you are lying–believe the words God has spoken to you.  And drink your coffee with gladness.

Leave a Reply

